Saturday, October 22, 2011

Game Day Saturday - Resetting for Redemption

 Game Info
Live Video: AmericaOne
Live Audio: KCBF 820
Live Stats: Sidearm Stats
Twitter: @NanookHockey 
Coach Ferguson proclaimed that the focus after last night was to reset and come back focused on 60 minutes. And no I'm not talking about the news show. Last night was not a great showing of Nanooks hockey, but there were some shining moments after taking a look at the stat sheet. For example, the Nanooks dominated the faceoff circles going 45-28, led by Justin Filzen 14-5 record. Filzen was the faceoff leader two years ago under Derek Klassen's captaincy before losing some significant playing time last season. Glad to see him get back to that level.

After last night, the lines remain nearly the same. After dropping Matt Gates from the lineup as a game time decision last night, Gator will get in the lineup tonight replacing Garrick Perry at the right wing spot on the 4th line. Trevor Campbell will also get the go for tonight after many suspected that he wouldn't after that costly penalty in the third period last night. The truth is, the Nanooks are down to six defensemen with veterans Michael Quinn and Cody Butcher sidelined due to injury. So not much of a choice there either way. I've stated already that I didn't think his hit had any bad intentions, and I'm glad that coach Ferguson didn't have to take any extreme measures to swap around players.

On the Western side of the ice, head coach Andy Murray has elected to swap goaltenders going with freshman Frank Slubowski who has yet to allow a goal in his collegiate career. Mind you his only game was against Alabama-Huntsville, but still an impressive stat. Also Dennis Brown will sit in favor of newcomer Matt Stewart on the blueline.

Without further ado, here are the full line charts...

Western Michigan

F1 Shane Berschbach - Chase Balisy - Dane Walters
F2 Will Kessel - David Killip - Robert Francis
F3 Trevor Elias - Justin Kovacs - Greg Squires
F4 Derek Roehl - Ben Warda - Ian Slater

D1 Danny DeKeyser - Luke Witkowski
D2 Garrett Haar - Matt Tennyson
D3 Jordan Oesterle - Matt Stewart

G1 Frank Slubowski

G2 Nick Pisellini

Alaska Nanooks

F1 36 Colton Beck - 17 Jarret Granberg - 29 Andy Taranto (A)
F2 7 Nik Yaremchuk - 37 Cody Kunyk - 39 Carlo Finucci
F3 26 Chad Gehon - 15 Justin Filzen - 20 Ron Meyers (C)
F4 25 Nolan Youngmun - 14 Adam Henderson - 11 Matt Gates

D1 2 Justin Tateson - 4 Scott Enders
D2 23 Nolan Kaiser - 5 Aaron Gens (A)
D3 13 Kaare Odegard - 18 Trevor Campbell

G1 35 Scott Greenham
G2 1 Steve Thompson
G3 38 Sean Cahill

No comments: